Kulick named World Bowling Writers Women's Bowler of the Year

ARLINGTON, Texas - After a year filled with major victories, Team USA's Kelly Kulick has been named the 2010 World Bowling Writers Women's Bowler of the Year.

The seven-time Team USA member became the first woman to win a Lumber Liquidators Professional Bowlers Association Tour title last January. She defeated Chris Barnes, 265-190, to win the Tournament of Champions.

"I'm thrilled by all the accolades I've received for last year's performances, and to be named the best bowler in the world is a tremendous accomplishment," Kulick said. "It's like 2010 hasn't ended yet for me. I'm constantly reminded of what I accomplished."

Kulick also won both women's bowling majors in 2010. She claimed the United States Bowling Congress Queens title in April and the U.S. Women's Open in May. She was the first woman to win both events in the same year.

In her only Team USA event in 2010, Kulick earned gold medals in doubles and team, a silver medal in all-events and bronze medals in singles and trios at the Pan American Bowling Confederation Women's Championships.

Kulick also traveled to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, in March and won the women's division at the Malaysian International Open.

England's Dominic Barrett was named the World Bowling Writers Men's Bowler of the Year for the third consecutive year. He topped the 2010 European Bowling Tour rankings with three titles and 12 finishes in the top five. Barrett also won a bronze medal in singles at the World Tenpin Bowling Association World Men's Championships.

The World Bowling Writers also announced that two players were elected to its Hall of Fame. England's Kirsten Penny and Finland's Mika Koivuniemi will be inducted later this year.